Alea Publishing Catalog: Sextet

Follow the links for more details and to order!

Debussy: Four Movements from Children's Corner
Children's Corner is a six-movement suite for solo piano by the French impressionist composer Claude Debussy (1862-1918). In this skillful work by Keith Terrett, four of the six movements - Jimbo's Lullaby, Serenade of the Doll, The Little Shepherd, and Golliwog's Cakewalk - are arranged for clarinet sextet. The publication is available in two different instrumentations.

Catalog #ALEA1106a, #ALEA1106b; $40

Gabriel: Three Canticles, Op. 90
Wolfgang Gabriel's Three Canticles, Op. 90 (2004) is a setting of three poems from Carl Sandburg's Chicago Poems of 1916. One of the composer's many works dedicated to and resulting from his collaboration with the bass clarinetist Michael Davenport, this sextet pairs three singers (2 sopranos and an alto) with 2 clarinets and bass clarinet.

Catalog #ALEA1108; $35

Sweelinck: Four Variations on 'More Palatino'
Jan Pieterszoon Sweelinck was a Dutch composer and organist whose career straddled the end of the Renaissance and beginning of the Baroque eras. We are pleased to include this arrangement by Keith Terrett of one of his keyboard works, More Palatino, for clarinet sextet. This relatively short set of four variations does not present any of the players with extensive challenges of technique or range, so makes a very accessible addition to the sextet repertoire.

Catalog #ALEA1153; $25

Tobel: Balkan Dances
Dutch composer Hans Tobel's Balkan Dances (Op. 18, 2009) is a highly effective sextet for 2 clarinets, 2 horns, and 2 bassoons.

Catalog #ALEA1083; $25