Title David: Concertino in B-flat Major, Op.12
Instrumentation Bass Clarinet & Piano
Range Extended-range instrument not required.
Price $20
Order Now!

About the Music

Ferdinand David (1810-1873) was a German violinist and composer of the Romantic era. This Concertino, originally for bassoon, is one of his more familiar works. The single-movement work has a duration of just under 10 minutes, making it an ideal choice for contest, jury, or audition purposes. That said, it is musically worthy of a place on a recital program. Alea is pleased to add this excellent transcription by Andrew Sprung to our catalog.

The original key is maintained in this transcription, placing the bass clarinet part comfortably in C major. An extended-range instrument can be utilized, but is not required, as alternative passages are provided for performance on a low E-flat instrument.

About the Arranger

Andrew Sprung is principal clarinetist of the Jackson (Michigan) Symphony Orchestra, second clarinetist of the Traverse Symphony Orchestra (Traverse City, Michigan), and adjunct instructor of clarinet at Spring Arbor University and Hillsdale College. He maintains a private studio of 35+ high school, middle school, and adult amateur clarinetists and bass clarinetists.

He has performed with the Toledo Symphony Orchestra, Fort Wayne Philharmonic, Lansing Symphony Orchestra, Battle Creek Symphony Orchestra, Grand Rapids Ballet, Windsor (Canada) Symphony Orchestra, Windsor Light Music Theatre, and others. He holds a D.M.A. degree from Michigan State University, M.M. from Bowling Green State University, and B.A. from Iowa State University. He is a Selmer Paris artist.


Listen to a performance of the transcription by Andrew Sprung! Note: audio only, no video:

Catalog Info Catalog #ALEA1202
Piano score: 22 pages, spiral bound
Part: 7 pages, spiral bound