Title 4 Colombian Pieces (2017) by Jorge Hoyos
Instrumentation Clarinet solo
Price $20
Order Now!

About the Work

Notes courtesy of the composer:

The Colombian pieces were finished in 2017. No particular folk rhythm is used in any of them but the rhythmic features and melodic gestures leave no doubt about their origins. "Óleo", the first piece, dwells between short lyric passages and rhythmic figurations that shape a harmonic landscape. The second piece "Nocturno" is an evocation of a primordial night: a night from the point of view of nature. "Aborigen" displays a number of rhythmic and melodic traits that show the mixture between African and Pre-Hispanic cultures found in Colombian music. "Danza", the last piece, pictures a primitive dance in an attempt to capture the beauty of simplicity.

About the Composer

Born in 1984 in Medellin, Jorge Hoyos studied at the Adventist University of Colombia were he earned his bachelor degree in music education in the year 2006. In 2010 he graduated from The Superior Institute of Arts in Cuba as a classical guitar performer and in 2015 he obtained a master degree in music composition from EAFIT University.

At present he works as composer, as classical guitar performer and as a professor of music theory at the Adventist University of Colombia and the Metropolitan Institute of Technology. His works vary from orchestral pieces to chamber and solo music. Several of his works have been commissioned and performed by artists and ensembles such as, Javier Asdrubal Vinasco (clarinetist), Carlos Areiza (percussionist), Andrés Gomez Bravo (pianist), Percanto ensemble (percussion), among others.

Catalog Info #ALEA1173
Solo score: 9 pages, loose-leaf