Title Ross James Carey: Petite Suite
Instrumentation Clarinet Trio: 2 clarinets, bass clarinet
Range Extended range instrument is required for bass clarinet part.
Price $20
Order Now!

About the Work

Petite Suite for clarinet trio (two clarinets, bass clarinet) is a wonderfully engaging and accessible work for clarinet ensemble. In keeping with the title, the work consists of four short movements, each composed in a distinct dance style:

  • I. Marche
  • II. Catavina
  • III. Scherzino
  • IV. Danse

With parts of equal difficulty, and no extremes of range or technical expectations, the work would make an excellent selection for contest or recital for students.

About the Composer

Ross James Carey is a composer and pianist. Born in Lower Hutt, New Zealand in 1969, he currently teaches at Lim Kok Wing University of Creative Technology in Cyberjaya, Malaysia. As both a composer and piano soloist and collaborative artist Ross has been active in a variety of settings, from international festivals and conferences to regional and community events, mainly in Australasia and Asia. His compositions draw upon a variety of sources reflecting his background as a classically trained musician active in this region. Ross' compositions have been presented at seven Asian Composers' League Festivals and recordings of his music include those by pianist Yuji Takahashi, guitarist Kazuhito Yamashita, Gamelan Padhang Moncar (New Zealand) and the Black Cedar Trio (California). As a pianist Ross is particularly interested in presenting his own works and those of composers from the wider Asia-Pacific region, and has given recitals at the 'International Congress of Women in Music', Beijing (2008) and 'East meets west' conference at the Hong Kong Baptist University (2009), among others.

Catalog Info #ALEA1169
Score: 15 pages, spiral bound
Parts: 4 pages each, single sheet booklet