Title Hristo Tsanoff: Concert Etudes (2015)
Instrumentation Bass Clarinet and Piano
Range Extended-range instrument required
Price $20
Order Now! Concert Etude No.1
Concert Etude No.2

Alea Publishing is pleased to present the Concert Etudes for bass clarinet and piano by Bulgarian composer Hristo Tsanoff. The seven works will be added to our catalog as individual volumes as they become available.

About the Etudes

The seven Concert Etudes for bass clarinet and piano (2015) belong to a cycle of Etudes for various instruments, titled "Play of the Thought," which provide performers with challenges suitable to prepare them for the repertoire of the 21st century.

Dr. Tsanoff was motivated to include works for bass clarinet in his cycle to refute the notion that the bass clarinetist should not be expected to handle technically demanding works. The composer also intends to show the beauty and virtuosity on the bass clarinet as a solo instrument. As these Etudes are accompanied, there is also much to learn about ensemble collaboration.

PLEASE NOTE: these publications respect the composer's original notation of the bass clarinet part in both treble and bass clef. This is a departure from Alea's normal policy of presenting all bass clarinet parts in treble clef.

About the Composer

Dr. Hristo Tsanoff, DM, is a Bulgarian composer. Born in 1947 in Sofia, he studied the violin, piano, and composition in his youth, in addition to studying medicine and spending much of his life working as a military doctor. His diverse and prolific compositional output includes operas, sacred music, symphonies, violin, 'cello, and piano concertos, as well as the extensive "Play of the Thought" cycle of Concert Etudes for various instruments and ensembles.

For more information about the composer and his works, visit his website!

Catalog Info

Concert Etude No.1:
Catalog #ALEA1167a
Score: 27 pages, spiral bound
Part: 9 pages, loose-leaf

Concert Etude No.2:
Catalog #ALEA1167b
Score: 26 pages, spiral bound
Part: 10 pages, loose-leaf