Title Shao Fern Teo: Playground on a Hill (2016)
Instrumentation Clarinet quartet: 3 clarinets, bass clarinet
Price $20
Order Now!

Read the Review!

About the Work

Program note courtesy of the composer:

This piece was written in 2016 with a specific clarinet quartet in mind: The Clarinet Fugue from Malaysia. The idea is to combine several short motives while maintaining musical interest in them within the technical abilities of the players. A challenge in writing this composition was the incorporation of jazz idioms, with which I wanted to give the piece a light-hearted character and, at the same time portray my musical experience in America through jazz. Duration: 4 minutes.

About the Composer

Shao Fern Teo (b. 1992) is a Malaysian-born composer, pianist, and violinist. Her musical style stems from her background in classical training, Chinese and English popular music, as well as church hymns and contemporary worship music. Her music is accessible and rooted in her creativity with tonality and instrumentation. Fern started her musical training on the piano, and later picked up the violin and composition. As a composer and performer, she is experienced in collaborating works with musicians and artists.

Fern attended INTI International University, Malaysia under the American Degree Transfer Program, and later transferred to the University of North Texas. As a multi-scholarship recipient, she received a Bachelor of Arts in Music degree (summa cum laude) from the University of North Texas in 2013, where she studied composition with Joseph Klein and Kirsten Broberg. Fern studied composition with Clifton Callender at Florida State University and graduated with a Master of Arts in Music in 2016. She participated in the University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music Film Scoring Institute in the summer of 2016 under the tutelage of the Institute Director, Thomas Haines.


Listen to a live performance from Florida State University (2016), featuring Thomas Rowat, Darius Bennett, Joan Fuchs, clarinets; Lilly Haley, bass clarinet.

Catalog Info #ALEA1162
Score: 14 pages, spiral bind
Parts: 3 pages each, booket format