Title Ross James Carey: Perpetual Movement (2016)
Instrumentation Clarinet Quartet: two clarinets in B flat, clarinet in A and bass clarinet
Range Extended range instrument required for bass clarinet part.
Price $20
Order Now!

About the Work

Perpetual Movement, a quartet for two clarinets in B flat, clarinet in A and bass clarinet in B flat was composed in 2016. The piece is in three parts, medium fast-slow-fast, and is ideal for student performance, featuring fun and engaging dance-like passages alternating with the more lyrical slow section. There are no great challenges of range or technique for any of the performers. An extended-range instrument is required for the bass clarinet part.

Perpetual Movement found its initial inspiration in the composer's encounters with a number of solo piano scores by Philip Glass.

About the Composer

Ross James Carey is a composer and pianist. Born in Lower Hutt, New Zealand in 1969, he currently teaches at Lim Kok Wing University of Creative Technology in Cyberjaya, Malaysia. As both a composer and piano soloist and collaborative artist Ross has been active in a variety of settings, from international festivals and conferences to regional and community events, mainly in Australasia and Asia. His compositions draw upon a variety of sources reflecting his background as a classically trained musician active in this region. Ross' compositions have been presented at seven Asian Composers' League Festivals and recordings of his music include those by pianist Yuji Takahashi, guitarist Kazuhito Yamashita, Gamelan Padhang Moncar (New Zealand) and the Black Cedar Trio (California). As a pianist Ross is particularly interested in presenting his own works and those of composers from the wider Asia-Pacific region, and has given recitals at the 'International Congress of Women in Music', Beijing (2008) and 'East meets west' conference at the Hong Kong Baptist University (2009), among others.

Catalog Info #ALEA1158
Score: 11 pages, spiral bound
Parts: 3 pages each, single sheet