Title J.S. Bach: Fugues
Instrumentation Clarinet Quartet: Two clarinets, two bass clarinets
Range Extended-range instruments NOT required.
Price $25
Order Now!

This volume for clarinet quartet (two clarinets, two bass clarinets) contains five fugues from J.S. Bach's Well-Tempered Clavier. Bach's original work for solo keyboard includes two sets of preludes and fugues in each major and minor key. Here, we have selected for transcription the following fugues:

  • Book 1, Fugue 12 in F minor, BWV 857
  • Book 1, Fugue 16 in G minor, BWV 861
  • Book 2, Fugue 9 in E major, BWV 878
  • Book 2, Fugue 22 in B-flat minor, BWV 891
  • Book 2, Fugue 23 in B major, BWV 892

The collection would provide student ensembles with excellent challenges, or provide the experienced/professional ensemble with outstanding additions to the repertoire. There are no extremes of range or difficult technical passages; challenges come in the form of difficult key signatures and contrapuntal texture. Original keys and range have been maintained throughout, providing clarinetists with an outstanding opportunity to experience the masterful counterpoint of J.S. Bach in its original form.


The following playlist contains the five fugues presented in this volume, performed in transcription for string quartet:

Catalog Info Catalog #ALEA1156
Score: 32 pages, spiral bound
Parts: 8 pages each, staple bound