Title Four Variations on 'More Palatino', by Sweelinck, arranged by Keith Terrett
Instrumentation Clarinet Sextet: 4 B-flat clarinets, E-flat alto clarinet, B-flat bass clarinet
Range Extended range instrument optional, but not required, for bass clarinet part
Price $25
Order Now!

About the Work

Jan Pieterszoon Sweelinck was a Dutch composer and organist whose career straddled the end of the Renaissance and beginning of the Baroque eras. He was a significant composer of keyboard music of the era, and we are pleased to include this arrangement of one of those keyboard works, More Palatino, for clarinet sextet.

This relatively short set of four variations does not present any of the players with extensive challenges of technique or range, so makes a very accessible addition to the sextet repertoire. The arrangement could make an excellent project for a student ensemble, or add some diversity to a concert program for a more advanced ensemble.

About the Arranger

Keith Terrett (b.1956), is a composer, arranger, conductor, band trainer, instrumental teacher, trumpeter, cornettist, flugelhornist & multi-instrumentalist born in London. He has performed and taught throughout Europe, North America, and Asia, and has recently been appointed "Composer in Residence" to the Kinta Valley Orchestral Society in Malaysia.

Keith has studied with, and gained academic musical qualifications from the Royal Military School of Music, Open University, Trinity College of Music, Royal College of Music, Royal Academy of Music, London College of Music, and the Bandsman's College of Music in Manchester.

Keith is an internationally acclaimed composer/arranger, writing in all genres from full orchestra, brass band, and wind band, to music for string quartet, brass ensemble, saxophone group, clarinet choir, recorder consort, oboe consort, and even for the steel drums, harmonica and accordion! His music is published in the England, Belgium, Austria, Wales, Canada, Holland, Switzerland, Germany, the USA and Norway.

To view more of the composer's diverse catalog, visit his websites:


Listen to the work in its original instrumentation!

Catalog Info #ALEA1153
Score: 12 pages, spiral bound
Parts: 2 pages each, single sheet