Title Ross James Carey: Suite
Instrumentation Bass Clarinet solo
Bassoon solo
Range Extended range instrument required
Price $16
Order Now! Bass Clarinet solo
Bassoon solo

About the Work

Suite for solo bassoon (2015) was composed for New Zealand bassoonist Ben Hoadley. Alea is pleased to publish this work in both this original form and in the composer's arrangement for solo bass clarinet. Consisting of five short movements - Prelude, Scherzo, Cavatina, Toccatina and Postlude - the musical language takes advantage of both instruments' ability to produce a beautiful singing tone (featured particularly in movements 1, 3, and 5) along with exploring their playful sides (in movements 2 and 4). Duration: ca. 11 minutes.

About the Composer

Ross James Carey is a composer and pianist. Born in Lower Hutt, New Zealand in 1969, he currently teaches at Lim Kok Wing University of Creative Technology in Cyberjaya, Malaysia. As both a composer and piano soloist and collaborative artist Ross has been active in a variety of settings, from international festivals and conferences to regional and community events, mainly in Australasia and Asia. His compositions draw upon a variety of sources reflecting his background as a classically trained musician active in this region. Ross' compositions have been presented at seven Asian Composers' League Festivals and recordings of his music include those by pianist Yuji Takahashi, guitarist Kazuhito Yamashita, Gamelan Padhang Moncar (New Zealand) and the Black Cedar Trio (California). As a pianist Ross is particularly interested in presenting his own works and those of composers from the wider Asia-Pacific region, and has given recitals at the 'International Congress of Women in Music', Beijing (2008) and 'East meets west' conference at the Hong Kong Baptist University (2009), among others.

Catalog Info #ALEA1131a: Bass Clarinet solo
#ALEA1131b: Bassoon solo
Solo Score: 10 pages, spiral bound