Title Jacquet de la Guerre: Three Pieces for Clarinet Quartet
Instrumentation Clarinet Quartet
Three Clarinets & Bass Clarinet
Range Extended-range instrument NOT required for bass clarinet part.
Price $15
Order Now!

Elisabeth Jacquet de la Guerre (1665-1729) was a French harpsichordist and composer of the Baroque era. She began her career as a virtuoso performer at the court of King Louis XIV, and was one of the few well-known female composers of her era.

The Three Pieces for Clarinet Quartet, arranged by Kevin Holland, were taken from de la Guerre's Suite for harpsichord in a minor (1687). The three dance movements - Chaconne, Sarabande, and Gavotte - are lovely examples of Baroque writing. With their short length and lack of any great challenge of range or technique for any of the players, the set would make an excellent selection for a student ensemble. That said, they are also musically worthy of addition to the repertoire of any clarinet quartet!


Listen to the Suite in a minor in its entirety and original instrumentation. This arrangement includes the 5th, 7th, and 8th movements of the work.

Catalog Info Catalog #ALEA1101
Score: 9 pages, spiral bound
Parts: 2 pages each, single sheet