Title W.A. Mozart: Ave Verum Corpus (K.618)
Instrumentation Clarinet Quartet: 3 clarinets, bass clarinet
Saxophone Quartet: soprano, alto, tenor, baritone
Range Extended range instrument NOT required for bass clarinet
Price $10
Order Now! Clarinet Quartet
Saxophone Quartet

The Ave Verum Corpus, K.618, was composed in the last months of Mozart's life in 1791. The short motet, originally for SATB choir, strings, and organ, is stunningly beautiful in its four-part harmony, and has been frequently arranged for a variety of ensembles.

With this arrangement, we make the work available for either clarinet quartet (3 clarinets and bass clarinet) or saxophone quartet (soprano, alto, tenor, and baritone). We have transposed the key in each case to one which provides the players with an ideally comfortable range and little challenge of reading. Otherwise, however, we have maintained the integrity of Mozart's original work.

Each part is simple and accessible enough that the ensemble is workable for young students. That said, because of the beauty and musical sophistication of the work, it could also make for a lovely addition to a recital program for advanced/professional players.


Listen to the work in its original instrumentation!

Catalog Info #ALEA1114a
Full score: 2 pages, single sheet
Parts (Clarinet 1, Clarinet 2, Clarinet 3, Bass Clarinet): 1 page each

Full score: 2 pages, single sheet
Parts (Soprano, Alto, Tenor, and Baritone Saxophone): 1 page each