Title Träumerei, by Schumann, arranged by Keith Terrett for clarinet quintet
Instrumentation Quintet: Three clarinets, alto clarinet, bass clarinet
Range Extended range instrument required for bass clarinet part
Price Score and Parts: $15
Order Now!

About the Work

Robert Schumann (1810-1856) is one of the great composers of the Romantic era; early in his life, he composed almost exclusively for piano, later expanding his catalog into a wide range of orchestral, choral and chamber works. Träumerei ("Dreaming") is perhaps the most famous of the Kinderszenen ("Scenes from Childhood"), Op. 15, a set of short pieces for solo piano.

In this skillful arrangement, Keith Terrett makes this beautiful short piece available for clarinet quintet, specifically three soprano clarinets, alto clarinet, and bass clarinet. Although the bass clarinet part does require an extended-range instrument to maintain the range of the original work, this only applies to a few notes which could easily be played up an octave if an extended-range instrument is not available. Overall, the limited range and technical expectations make this an extremely accessible arrangement.

About the Arranger

Keith Terrett (b.1956), is a composer, arranger, conductor, band trainer, instrumental teacher, trumpeter, cornettist, flugelhornist & multi-instrumentalist born in London. He has performed and taught throughout Europe, North America, and Asia, and has recently been appointed "Composer in Residence" to the Kinta Valley Orchestral Society in Malaysia.

Keith has studied with, and gained academic musical qualifications from the Royal Military School of Music, Open University, Trinity College of Music, Royal College of Music, Royal Academy of Music, London College of Music, and the Bandsman's College of Music in Manchester.

Keith is an internationally acclaimed composer/arranger, writing in all genres from full orchestra, brass band, and wind band, to music for string quartet, brass ensemble, saxophone group, clarinet choir, recorder consort, oboe consort, and even for the steel drums, harmonica and accordion! His music is published in the England, Belgium, Austria, Wales, Canada, Holland, Switzerland, Germany, the USA and Norway.

To view more of the composer's diverse catalog, visit his websites:


Listen to the work in its original instrumentation!

Catalog Info #ALEA1109
Score: 4 pages, single sheet
Parts: 1 page each, single sheet