Title Wolfgang Gabriel: Three Canticles, Op. 90 (2004)
Instrumentation 2 sopranos, alto, 2 clarinets, and bass clarinet
Range Extended-range instrument required for bass clarinet part.
Price $35
Order Now!

Wolfgang Gabriel's Three Canticles, Op. 90 (2004) is a setting of three poems from Carl Sandburg's Chicago Poems of 1916. One of the composer's many works dedicated to and resulting from his collaboration with the bass clarinetist Michael Davenport, this sextet pairs three singers (2 sopranos and an alto) with 2 clarinets and bass clarinet.

The composer's vast background of working with and composing for voices shines through in this artful setting of Sandburg's evocative poems. None of the clarinet parts presents any great challenge of range or technical expectations. The work has a total duration of approximately 9 minutes. To facilitate rehearsal and performance, the publication is sold with three copies of the full score, and parts for each of the clarinetists.

The Poems

1. Under the Harvest Moon
2. Joy
3. Nocturne in a Deserted Backyard

Catalog Info Catalog #ALEA1108
Full score: 17 pages, spiral bound
Parts: 3 pages each, single sheet