Title Fugue on B-a-c-h, by Albrechtsberger, arranged by Keith Terrett for clarinet quintet
Instrumentation Quintet: Four clarinets, bass clarinet
Range Extended range instrument required for bass clarinet part
Price $20
Order Now!

About the Work

Johann Georg Albrechtsberger (1736-1809) was an Austrian organist and composer, a contemporary of Haydn and one of Beethoven's early teachers. He is one of many composers to have used the letters of Bach's name as the theme for another work, in this case an organ fugue.

In this skillful arrangement, Keith Terrett makes this delightful fugue available for clarinet quintet, specifically four soprano clarinets and one bass clarinet - with the bass part reminiscent of the bass pedal notes of the original organ work. None of the individual parts are tremendously difficult, but of course a fugue always presents fine challenges to a student ensemble. The work would also be a fun addition to a program for more advanced players.

About the Arranger

Keith Terrett (b.1956), is a composer, arranger, conductor, band trainer, instrumental teacher, trumpeter, cornettist, flugelhornist & multi-instrumentalist born in London. He has performed and taught throughout Europe, North America, and Asia, and has recently been appointed "Composer in Residence" to the Kinta Valley Orchestral Society in Malaysia.

Keith has studied with, and gained academic musical qualifications from the Royal Military School of Music, Open University, Trinity College of Music, Royal College of Music, Royal Academy of Music, London College of Music, and the Bandsman's College of Music in Manchester.

Keith is an internationally acclaimed composer/arranger, writing in all genres from full orchestra, brass band, and wind band, to music for string quartet, brass ensemble, saxophone group, clarinet choir, recorder consort, oboe consort, and even for the steel drums, harmonica and accordion! His music is published in the England, Belgium, Austria, Wales, Canada, Holland, Switzerland, Germany, the USA and Norway.

To view more of the composer's diverse catalog, visit his websites:


Listen to the work in its original instrumentation!

Catalog Info #ALEA1107
Score: 3 pages, spiral bound
Parts: 1-2 pages each, single sheet