Title Four Movements from Children's Corner, by Claude Debussy, arranged by Keith Terrett for clarinet sextet
Instrumentation Version 1: 2 clarinets, alto clarinet, 2 basset horns, bass clarinet
Version 2: 2 clarinets, alto clarinet, 3 bass clarinets
Range Extended range instrument NOT required for bass clarinet parts
Price $40
Order Now! Version 1
Version 2

About the Work

Children's Corner is a six-movement suite for solo piano by the French impressionist composer Claude Debussy (1862-1918). The work was dedicated to the composer's daughter, who was three years old at the time. The pieces were not intended to be played by children, however; rather they are meant to be evocative of childhood.

In this skillful work by Keith Terrett, four of the six movements - Jimbo's Lullaby, Serenade of the Doll, The Little Shepherd, and Golliwog's Cakewalk - are arranged for clarinet sextet. With no tremendous challenge to any of the six players, this is nonetheless a piece which would provide an excellent project for a student ensemble, with the frequent changes of tempo, mood, and dynamic. Any of the four movements alone, or the piece as a whole, would make a delightful addition to any concert program.

Terrett's original arrangement is for 2 clarinets, alto clarinet, 2 basset horns, and bass clarinet. At our request, Terrett also developed a second version of the arrangement without basset horns. We hope that by offering both versions, more ensembles will find this outstanding work accessible.

About the Arranger

Keith Terrett (b.1956), is a composer, arranger, conductor, band trainer, instrumental teacher, trumpeter, cornettist, flugelhornist & multi-instrumentalist born in London. He has performed and taught throughout Europe, North America, and Asia, and has recently been appointed "Composer in Residence" to the Kinta Valley Orchestral Society in Malaysia.

Keith has studied with, and gained academic musical qualifications from the Royal Military School of Music, Open University, Trinity College of Music, Royal College of Music, Royal Academy of Music, London College of Music, and the Bandsman's College of Music in Manchester.

Keith is an internationally acclaimed composer/arranger, writing in all genres from full orchestra, brass band, and wind band, to music for string quartet, brass ensemble, saxophone group, clarinet choir, recorder consort, oboe consort, and even for the steel drums, harmonica and accordion! His music is published in the England, Belgium, Austria, Wales, Canada, Holland, Switzerland, Germany, the USA and Norway.

To view more of the composer's diverse catalog, visit his websites:


Listen to the work in its original instrumentation!

Catalog Info #ALEA1106a
Full score: 47 pages, spiral bound
Parts (Clarinet 1, Clarinet 2, Alto Clarinet, Basset Horn 1, Basset Horn 2, Bass Clarinet): 6-7 pages, booklet

Full score: 47 pages, spiral bound
Parts (Clarinet 1, Clarinet 2, Alto Clarinet, Bass Clarinet 1, Bass Clarinet 2, Bass Clarinet 3): 6-7 pages, booklet