Title Muffat: Three Pieces for Clarinet Quartet
Instrumentation Clarinet Quartet
Three Clarinets & Bass Clarinet
Range Extended-range instrument NOT required for bass clarinet part.
Price $15
Order Now!

Georg Muffat (1653-1704) was a Baroque composer of Scottish descent who studied composition and organ in France and Italy. His works were influenced and admired by many of the prominent composers of the day, including Jean Baptiste Lully and Arcangelo Corelli.

The Three Pieces for Clarinet Quartet, arranged by Kevin Holland, were taken from Muffat's Fifth Keyboard Partita. The three dance movements - Ballet, Gavotte, and Rigodon - are lovely examples of Baroque writing. With their short length and lack of any great challenge of range or technique for any of the players, the set would make an excellent selection for a student ensemble. That said, they are also musically worthy of addition to the repertoire of any clarinet quartet!

Catalog Info Catalog #ALEA1101
Score: 7 pages, spiral bound
Parts: 2 pages each, single sheet