Title Ivana Loudová: Four Pieces (1982)
Instrumentation Clarinet Solo
Price $15
Order Now!

One of the most prominent Czech composers of her generation, Ivana Loudová (1941-2017) was a member of the composition faculty of the Academy of Music and Dramatic Arts in Prague for nearly three decades. Her early studies in Prague were with Czech composers Miloslav Kabelac and Emil Hlobil, and this was followed by work in Paris with Olivier Messiaen and Andre Jolivet. Her vast catalog of compositions includes works for orchestra, various chamber ensembles, solo instruments, and voice.

Four Pieces for Clarinet Solo was composed in 1982 for the Chomutov interpretation competition. The four pieces, with an overall duration of approximately 10 minutes, are quite contrasting in style. The second piece, Quasi Dialogo, is a small homage to Igor Stravinsky. The third movement, Canto Misterioso, borrows a vocal melody from one of the composer's earlier works. The fourth piece, Capriccio is truly virtuoso, providing a great challenge to the clarinetist.

The solo score is published loose-leaf, to facilitate page turns during performance.

Catalog Info #ALEA1097
Solo Score: 7 pages, loose-leaf