Title Bach: Little Fugue, BWV 578
Instrumentation Bass Clarinet Quartet
Range Extended-range instruments NOT required.
Price $18
Order Now!

The 'Little Fugue' of J.S. Bach, originally composed for organ, contains one of Bach's most recognizable melodies, and has frequently been transcribed for various ensembles. Alejandro Loveira's transcription of the work for bass clarinet quartet is quite effective.

Although the fugue features Bach's complex counterpoint, the work is quite accessible for young players, and would make an excellent challenge for a high school or early college ensemble; that said, it could also become a staple for a professional quartet. The original key of g minor places the bass clarinet in the comfortable a minor. Extended range instruments are not required.


Listen to the work in its original instrumentation!

Catalog Info Catalog #ALEA1066
Score: 8 pages, spiral bound
Parts: 1-2 pages each, single sheet