Title Ondrej Sarek: Four Elegies
Instrumentation Bass Clarinet & Piano
Range Extended range instrument NOT required
Price $20
Order Now!

Ondrej Sarek (1979-) was born in Brno, in the Czech Republic. He has studied composition at the Janacek Academy of Music and Performing Arts in Brno with professor Frantisek Emmert, and musicology at the Faculty of Arts at Masaryk University. Sarek's varied output includes works for chorus, a mini-opera, symphonic works, theater music, and jazz-rock compositions. In addition to composing, Sarek plays folk instruments. His specialty is the ukulele, concertina and diatonic accordion. For these instruments he has written and arranged over fifty books.

The Elegies, with their slow and beautiful melodies, were composed in remembrance of a quieter time. The composer urges performers not to rush, enjoying each moment and not expecting breakthroughs in the compositions. In his words, it is "better to dive into it and let it drift." The composer recommends that the Elegies be played separately, not as a cycle.

Catalog Info #ALEA1062
Piano score: 9 pages, spiral bound
Part: 3 pages, single sheet