Title Gregory Youtz: Studies for Bass Clarinet (2007)
Instrumentation Solo Bass Clarinet
Range Available in two versions, one for extended-range instruments, one for instruments to low E-flat
Price $20
Order Now! original extended range version
revised low E-flat version

Alea Publishing is pleased to present the thirty Studies (2007) for bass clarinet of Gregory Youtz. Musically, the pieces are extremely varied, rhythmically often quite challenging, and Youtz's use of the low and high registers afford the student of the bass clarinet a wonderful challenge in developing greater alacrity in these ranges.

American composer Gregory Youtz received his Doctorate in Music Composition from the University of Michigan in 1987 where he studied with Leslie Basset, William Bolcom and William Albright. His compositions include two symphonies, a full-length opera, and numerous other works for orchestra, wind ensemble, choir, and various chamber ensembles.

The studies were composed for bass clarinet in extended range to low C. With the permission of the composer, Michael Davenport has reworked the studies to make them available in two versions: for extended range bass clarinet, and the more common bass clarinet to low E-flat range.

The Studies are also available in an edition for saxophone, as edited by Erik Steighner.

Catalog Info Catalog #ALEA1054a: original extended range version
Catalog #ALEA1054b: revised low E-flat version
50 pages, spiral bound