Title Haydn: Quartet Op.76 No.3
Instrumentation Clarinet Quartet
Two Clarinets, Alto Clarinet & Bass Clarinet or
Two Clarinets, Two Bass Clarinets
Range Extended-range instrument required for bass clarinet part.
Price $22
Order Now!

Joseph Haydn (1732-1809) was one of the most prolific composers of the classical era, and the dozens of string quartets in his output contain some of the greatest music ever composed for the ensemble. The Quartet Op.76 No.3 is one of Haydn's most famous quartets, a favorite of performers and audiences alike. The four-movement quartet, nicknamed "Emperor", was composed in 1797. This transcription would make an excellent addition to the repertoire of an established quartet, as well as valuable study material for a student ensemble.

This transcription maintains the written key of C Major, resulting in a sounding key of B-flat major. This decision was made in the interest of accessibility of both range and reading. This transcription provides parts for two possible instrumentations: two clarinets, alto clarinet, and bass clarinet, OR two clarinets and two bass clarinets. An extended range bass clarinet is required for the cello line, but not for the viola.


Listen to the work in its original instrumentation!

Catalog Info Catalog #ALEA1049
Miniature score: 37 pages, spiral bound
Five parts: Page numbers vary, staple bound